Thursday, January 4, 2018

Book Review: Tu B'Shevat is Coming! by Tracy Newman, Illustrated by Viviana Garofoli

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

This is an interesting book for children that explains about some of what makes Tu B'Shevat the holiday that it is. It describes the kind of weather that often happens during it, what kids may do during it while exploring (riding bikes, hiking), digging holes for planting seeds, what kind of trees that are often planted, what to fill up your plate with while the holiday is approaching (plus more), all the while continuing to announce that Tu B'Shevat is coming. When Tu B'Shevat is finally here it shows what people may do to celebrate its arrival.

I like that this book explains what Tu B'Shevat is without really coming right out and explaining what the holiday is about, I believe that will help children to imagine what it is and its meaning on their own.  What it explains is done to prepare for the holiday will also help children see how fun preparing for Tu B'Shevat can be. I believe the fact that the story keeps saying that Tu B'Shevat is coming will create a lot of anticipation and excitement about the holiday for children!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Book Review: Sadie's Snow Tu B'Shevat by Jamie Korngold, Illustrated by Julie Fortenberry

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Sadie wants to plant a tree on Tu B'Shevat but the weather is too wintry for it grow. She asks some of her family members what to do but they explain to her that it is too cold to plant a tree. She finally gets the answer she needs from her grandma that in Israel it is spring and the right time for tree planting. Her grandma has a great idea of how Sadie can plant something during the wintry weather that is happening where she lives. She tells Sadie what she used to do when she was little, which was to plant parsley on Tu B'Shevat in pots and put it on the windowsill. Sadie decides to do this and sees her small plant sprout up a little bit at a time, just in time for Pesach (Passover).

I like how the holiday of Tu B'Shevat is explained during this story and it also explains the difference in the weather during the time of the holiday in Israel and where the setting is in the book. It also explains what Sadie will need to plant her new tree (or something like a tree), there is only a small number of things that she will need. I like that the parsley that Sadie planted had a use after it had sprouted since parsley is often used during Pesach.

An interesting story that will plants seeds about the Tu B'Shevat holiday for children that can be read at any time of the year!

My review= 5 out of 5 years

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

 

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Book Review: A Queen in Jerusalem by Tami Shem-Tov & Rachella Sandbank, Illustrated by Avi Ofer

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Malka's mother promised she would make her a Queen Esther costume for Purim but she doesn't have time to do so. Malka is disappointed and as she walks along the streets of Jerusalem she see a man hammering on a stone. She finds out his name is Boris and she tells him her story about she doesn't have a costume for the Purim holiday the next day and he leads her to some talent weavers who help make a dream come true for her beyond what she can imagine!

A lot of children will probably be able to understand through this story that the Purim holiday was important to Malka and they can probably eventually apply it to real life of maybe why their family and friends might also get excited about the holiday. They will be able to see how fun it was for Malka to get dressed up participate with the holiday using the costume that was made just for her!

This story does a great job of explaining who the man Boris in the story was and there is also an author's note going into more detail about who he was. Children will learn that not only was Boris a sculptor and painter but he also founded a royal school of art in Bulgaria and an art school in Jerusalem, which sounds like it still exists today.

My review= 5 out 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Book Review: Capital Gaines by Chip Gaines

This is Chip Gaines' story of how what he has gone through has brought him to some successes in his life. He kind of had a dream of where he wanted to be in his younger days but his life took a different course and he explains how these early beginnings trained him and helped to pave a course to the successes that have happened in his life since then. He talks about his family, his family businesses, and the Fixer Upper TV show he and wife Joanna have starred in and how these all came to be, and most importantly, he talks about God's help with successes that have happened in his life.

My parents have the Fixer Upper TV show playing a lot in our home because they are really into home repairs, which made me interested in reading this book and learning how that TV show came to be with the Gaines' starring in it.

In some ways I feel like Chip was trying to show how small beginnings brought him to bigger places in his life but in others I feel like he went through kind of some big beginnings that brought him to even bigger places and dreams in he and his wife's life. It's amazing that the bigger things seemed to start happening after he married his wife Joanna, like she was a needed partner to have more of God's will unfold from his life.

At first I was kind of shocked to read that Chip likes people to figure out things on their own that he leads in his company, but then I became grateful that he gives people some tidbits to start with so they are not left completely in the dark and that he takes the credit when people mess up with things that they didn't already know.

I think my favorite part of the book was when Chip's eyes were opened about something important that someone I don't think he knew did in his life to help him understand when a door needed to close. I was also happy to learn that Chip has a heart for helping homeless people, and that he cares deeply for his family, his employees, his customers, and even strangers that are sent into his life.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Book Review: Meg Goldberg On Parade by Andria Warmflash Rosenbaum, Illustrated by Christopher Lyles

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Meg Goldberg's family was watching the Israel parade on a street in New York City it was going down. As Meg was watching as a spectator, she starts imagining ways that she could participate in the parade, ways that the people could use her help. She spends time with the mayor, some children, some camels, carrying an Israeli flag, humming Israel's national anthem, etc. She is also crowned Grand Marshall, which is a person in charge of the ceremony. When she and her family gets home from the parade she remembers the fun she had and what she imagined, or was it really in her imagination anyway since there is one piece of her dream that shows up soon after they get home? After the end of the story there is an author's note that explains what the annual Celebrate Israel Parade is and how long it has been happening. There is also a short list of words used located at the back of book to define some words used in this story that the children may have never heard before.

Meg's imaginary participation can show children what it may be like for people that participate with the Israel parade and to maybe help some children to start to dream about participating in it for themselves some day. I think it would be beneficial to read the author's note about the Celebrate Israel Parade either before or after the story so it will help children to visualize how a Celebrate Israel Parade might happen, even through Meg's imagination.

My review = 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this book myself and I was not required to review it.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Book Review: Marcel Marceau Master of Mime

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

In his young childhood Marcel grew up watching silent movies, movies in which actors could get their point across by movement and facial expressions and often make people laugh and cry through their acting. He liked silent movies so much he dressed like Charlie Chaplin and he wanted to grow up to be like him, a star of silent movies. Marcel pursued his dream, although he took different steps to get there and it wasn't immediate, eventually he walked forward in that dream and became a successful actor and also revived the ancient art of silent shows after it had been forgotten. Marcel's story also brings some past history about the Holocaust and how he was involved with helping and entertaining some people during it.

This book will educate children about the art of silent movies and how they tell a story without words. Although I knew there is such a thing as miming I didn't know that they used to refer to it as silent movies, so it even educated me as an adult. I like that people can give shows through miming because sometimes our words get in the way and it's much better to speak without words sometimes. I think it would be interesting to have some children learn more about silent movies as part of their education after reading this book or having it read to them by making a way that they can perform in some at school.

My review = 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased this book myself and I was not required to review it.

Monday, December 4, 2017

Book Blog Tour: Christy (50th Anniversay Edition) by Catherine Marshall

Christy Huddleston starts a new kind of life a world away from where and what she is used to. She thinks she leaves to start this new part of her life as a teacher for the mission but then thinks she has done it for herself. What she finds in her new teaching role is children of all different ages, some of whom can't read and don't have shoes to wear to school in the coldest of weather. Some of the children are more rambunctious than others, especially Lundy Taylor; Christy finds ways to see why he and others in the town like him might be the way they are. David is the young town preacher and is drawn to Christy, although Christy is unsure if she is right for him so she delays his marriage proposal and needs time to think about it, which he gives her. The town doctor and Christy work close together during a town crisis; he doesn't believe very much in God but that doesn't stop him from caring about the community when various people need medical attention. 

I connected to this story because I can relate to Christy in some ways, especially in wanting to give up on hard assignments every now and then trying to push through them despite circumstances. She left what she was used to and pushed forward with her calling to be a part of the children's and other town member's lives in another place and got through many difficult times and found her place in the community. She also dealt with some hard situations with teaching many students in the class at different grade levels. Even though some of her students had a lot of challenging behaviors, she tried to see the good in them and often found it not just in the classroom but outside of it within their family lives also.

I have also watched one of the films about this book a few times and I found the book to be much more detailed (as most books probably are due to time constraints in films). I watched the film before I read the book so it gave me some visual pictures in my head with remembering scenes in the film as I was reading it, which I am grateful for. Even though I have watched the film the ending seemed a surprise to me!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of writing a review.

More about the book:
New edition of Catherine Marshall's inspirational classic! 
The train taking nineteen-year-old teacher Christy Huddleston from her home in Asheville, North Carolina, might as well be transporting her to another world. The Smoky Mountain community of Cutter Gap feels suspended in time, trapped by poverty, superstitions, and century-old traditions.
But as Christy struggles to find acceptance in her new home, some see her - and her one-room school - as a threat to their way of life. Her faith is challenged and her heart is torn between two strong men with conflicting views about how to care for the families of the Cove.
Yearning to make a difference, will Christy's determination and devotion be enough?

About the author:

Catherine Marshall (1914-1983), The New York Times best-selling author of 30 books, is best known for her novel Christy. Based on the life of her mother, Christy captured the hearts of millions and became a popular CBS television series. Around the kitchen table at Evergreen Farm, as her mother reminisced, Catherine probed for details and insights into the rugged lives of these Appalachian highlanders. Catherine shared the story of her husband, Dr. Peter Marshall, Chaplain of the United States Senate, in A Man Called Peter. A decade after Dr. Marshall's untimely death, Catherine married Leonard LeSourd, Executive Editor of Guideposts, forging a dynamic writer-editor partnership. A beloved inspirational writer and speaker, Catherine's enduring career spanned four decades and reached over 30 million readers.
Find out more about Catherine at http://gileadpublishing.com/christy/.

Some stories are evergreen, their themes and lessons standing the test of time and connecting with readers generation after generation. Reconnect with Catherine Marshall's beloved Christy as it celebrates its 50th anniversary with a new edition! As nineteen-year-old teacher Christy struggles to find acceptance in her new home of Cutter Gap, some see her-and her one-room school-as a threat to their way of life. Her faith is challenged and her heart is torn between two strong men with conflicting views about how to care for the families of the Cove. Yearning to make a difference, will Christy's determination and devotion be enough?




Celebrate the new 50th anniversary edition of Christy by entering to win one of TWO $50 Visa cash cards (details below) and by attending a Facebook Live party on December 5, 2017!




TWO grand prize winners will receive:


  • One copy of Christy
  • One $50 Visa Cash Card
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on December 5, 2017. The winner will be announced at the Christy Facebook Live Party. RSVP for a chance to connect with authors who've been impacted by Christy and other readers, as well as for a chance to win other prizes!


RSVP today and spread the word-tell your friends about the giveaway and Facebook Live party via social media and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 5th!


 
Book Blog Tour Landing Page: