Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Book Review: The Action Storybook Bible, Text by Catherine Devries, Illustrated by Sergio Cariello

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

The Action Storybook Bible takes children from the beginning Bible book of Genesis to the ending book of Revelation in storybook format. Children can visualize through color illustrations what Jesus (Yeshua), Adam and Eve, Abraham, Esther, Moses, and different prophets might have looked like and what they did throughout their experiences as written in the Bible. At the end of each section there is a Life, Faith, and Action portion which shows how God was in action during that part of Scripture, how faith can be put in action through what children learned, and an ending prayer that also applies to the Scripture that usually involves expressing thankfulness. After the Scriptures are broken down in storybook format, there is another story that goes through the Scriptures faster. At the end of both stories (the longer and shorter one), there is a Scripture Hall of Fame index which lists the major people in the Bible stories throughout this book, a description of their importance, what page(s) they can be found on in this book, and visual clues to help children locate pictures associated with them in previous pages.

I think it will be interesting for a lot of children to read this storybook Bible and it will help many of them to understand the Scriptures better. I like that it is broken down into sections so different stories of the Bible can be focused on in different timeframes. I like how children can think about what they read through the Life, Faith, and Action portions at the end of the sections and I think that might help some children learn how to start praying and some children may learn how to pray deeper through those prayers.

I really like how there was a faster story version of the Scriptures at the back of the book, in case children already know a lot of the Bible stories and want to read a summarized version. In my opinion, the Hall of Fame index is a great addition to this storybook Bible because it will help children to review what they learned about people in the Bible and interact more with the Bible stories.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received a digital copy of this for the purpose of reviewing it.

Book Blog Tour Landing Page:

http://litfusegroup.com/author/DeVriesCariello


CONTEST INFORMATION

Discover your family's place in God's incredible story and together put your faith into action with the new The Action Storybook Bible from David C Cook! Explore God's redemptive story together with your children ages 8 and under in the 15 episodes highlighting key milestones in God's story. Master-artist Sergio Cariello created more than 350 brand-new illustrations to captivate your family and help you recognize how God is moving through each story.



Join the adventure to begin to figure out where you fit into God's beautiful and exciting plan for the world by entering to win the Kindle Fire giveaway!






 



One grand prize winner will receive:




Enter today by clicking the icon below, but hurry! The giveaway ends on September 29, 2017. The winner will be announced October 2, 2017 on the Litfuse blog.







More information about The Action Storybook Bible:


The Action Storybook Bible invites families with children ages 8 and under explore God's redemptive story together.
From the sleek and amazing creatures God created at the beginning of the world to the powerful kings who reigned over ancient Israel to Jesus's gift of eternal life for you and your family-God has a beautiful and exciting plan for the world. Where do you fit into that plan? How are the truths found in God's Word reflected in your life?
This Bible storybook features 15 episodes highlighting key milestones in God's story, packed with dozens of scenes-combining stories from God's Word with brand-new captivating illustrations from Brazilian master-artist Sergio Cariello, illustrator of the bestselling The Action Bible. Discover your family's place in God's redemptive story and together put your faith into action!
Interactive features include:
-Fifteen episodes loaded with over 350 brand-new illustrations from master-artist Sergio Cariello.
-Short and easy reading for all ages. Take turns telling God's redemptive story!
-The Life, Faith, Action! feature wraps up each episode and helps your family recognize how God is moving through each story, discover how that relates to your daily lives, and feel inspired to put your faith into action.
-Heroes Hall of Fame index, where you can look up your favorite Bible characters and discover their stories!
About the authors:

Catherine has written more than twenty-five books for children, including the bestselling "Adventure Bible Storybook." As publisher of children's resources at David C Cook, she leads product development for The Action Bible® collection, which has sold more than a million copies. Catherine lives with her husband, their three children, and their big furry dog in the Colorado forest. ||**|| Brazilian-born Sergio Cariello has been an accomplished artist since childhood, drawing a regular comic strip for his city's newspaper at age 11. He spent many childhood hours poring over "The Picture Bible" (Portuguese edition), never dreaming he would illustrate an updated edition ("The Action Bible") decades later. Sergio has worked for Marvel Comics and DC comics and has illustrated Batman, Spiderman, Superman, Iron-Man, Wonder Woman, Fantastic-Four, and dozens more comic book characters.
Find out more about Catherine and at http://www.theactionbible.com.
Like us on Facebook

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Book Review: The Cholent Brigade by Michael Herman, Illustrated by Sharon Harmer

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Mr. Nudelman woke up early to shovel snow for his neighbors after a big snowfall. His neighbors are able to get to work and school because of his hard work and could also shop for Shabbat. The mail carrier now would not slip and fall while delivering mail. While he is trying to clear the snow away from his own yard he has an accident. This prompts the people he helped to come and help make his recovery a lot more comfortable.

I think this book will encourage children to learn to help each other for the sake of wanting to help them and not expecting anything in return. I think it will also show children that if they help others it will prompt others to want to help them sometimes when they need it also. It is also a good reminder about how so important it is to help you neighbor, whether it is someone that lives close to you or someone who lives inside or outside of your neighborhood.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Book Review: Sukkot is Coming! By Tracy Newman, Illustrusted by Viviana Garofoli

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Sukkot is Coming! teaches children about the Sukkot holiday in an easy-to-understand way. They will see the Sukkot (booth) decorated, notice some baking happening, watch the lawn be set up with chairs, and see how a table might be set up for a meal. Happy looking guest then arrive and the celebration/commemoration begins!

This is another great Very First Board Books addition that teaches about Sukkot! The illustrations in this book might help children to realize what kind of food that might be eaten during the start of the Sukkot holiday, which for the people in this book looked like something kind of light and it wasn't a big meal. In my opinion, the most important part of the book is when the guests arrive, and Sukkot is celebrated. This shows that Sukkot is a holiday we should included our family, friends, and maybe some people that cannot celebrate it otherwise and want to celebrate it with us.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Book Review: The Best Sukkot Pumpkin Ever by Laya Steinberg, Illustrated by Colleen Madden

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Micah goes to a farm to help pick pumpkins. Farmer Jared explains that the more pumpkins they pick the more that they will be able to donate to the soup kitchen. Micah and other children help to gather a lot of pumpkins and they discover one that is not going to be able to be used, it is a gigantic pumpkin that will be used as a decoration. He also comes across a rotten one that will be used to help feed the soil. A small pumpkin that Micah finds he considers his Sukkot pumpkin and can be used with most of the other pumpkins they gathered to feed hungry people. In Micah's eyes he donates all three pumpkins for different purposes.

After the story the feast of Sukkot is described. There is a also a listing of tikkun olam family activities to help people.

I loved how Micah learns it is tikkun olam to help people that are hungry and don't have enough money to buy food. This story will help children to understand how fun it is to pick pumpkins and will help them learn to associate pumpkins with the feast of Sukkot. Pumpkins have been used for scarier purposes and I think it's great to show them they can be used for great purposes!



My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received a paperback version of this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Monday, September 4, 2017

Book Review: Rosie Saves the World by Debbie Herman, Illustrated by Tammie Lyon

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Rosie loves to be involved with tikkun olam, helping to repair the world by doing good deeds to people. She loves doing things such as collecting food for people that need it, visiting the senior center, helping a mother out with her baby, etc. She is so busy that she tells her own family she is not available to help them when they ask. She is even too busy to visit her grandmother. Somebody that Rosie is helping to do a good deed for opens her eyes that she should spend time helping out her family too.

I love how Rosie was so inspired to help out others in need. This story will help children to realize that she was focused more on those she could help outside of her family. I think the more that they realize that she helps others and rejects her families requests the more they will start to realize she should help out her family members too.

This is a great book to help children to realize how important tikkun Olam is for Jewish people. It will also teach them that Areyvut is also important, which is a Jewish concept that all Jewish people are responsible for one another, which includes their immediate families.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received a paperback version of this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Book Review: Koala Challah by Laura Gehl, Illustrated by Maria Mola

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Lila and her family are koalas. She tries making eucalyptus candles and wine but she leaves the table a mess which irritats her mother a lot because she has to clean up the table each week instead of making challah bread. Since she is not very successful with making eucalyptus candles and wine she asks her mom if she can try making challah bread next week. She agrees but tells her that she needs to practice ahead of time. She practices throughout the week and makes some mistakes while making the challah bread. Her mistakes allow her to do better each time she remakes the challah bread. At the end of the week she creates some challah bread that her family loves!



I loved that Lila found a gifting she has with making challah bread.  I loved that she didn't give up and she was able to notice her mistakes before making what seemed to be a perfect challah bread. She added something special to Shabbat for her and her family by making the challah bread and added a special ingredient to the bread that might be passed down to her koala family for my different generations!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Book Review: Moti the Mitzvah Mouse by Vivian Newman, Illustrated by Inga Knopp-Kilpert

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Moti is a mouse that lives inside the Berman's house. While the family is asleep he finds a way to do some mitzvahs for them throughout their house, such as picking up toys, collecting coins for the mitzvah box, and sweeping up crumbs. Moti is so busy showing kindness that he doesn't notice that Pepper the family cat is paying attention. His kindness rubs off on Pepper and decides to do a mitzvah for him. Moti becomes so puzzled about where his gift of kindness came from but doesn't dwell on it too long before he is doing another mitzvah for the Berman family!

This is a great book for children to start learning about how to find ways to do some mitzvahs for others. I loved how Moti's kindness rubbed off on Pepper even though he didn't expect it to. I also loved how there are a few pages at the end of the book filled with ways people can do mitzvahs for other people. Adults can participate greatly through with what is taught in this book by teaching children to do some or all of those mitzvahs listed and to come up with some other mitzvahs to teach them as well.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.