Monday, August 29, 2016

We're Missing You Gene Wilder!

People are already missing having Gene Wilder around.

He was/is the only author I have ever felt comfortable asking a question to during a book talk. He told me what his favorite memory was during the "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" film. I think he smiled at everybody that came to get a book signed.

I almost asked him to sing for us that night but thought it might embarrass him. I wonder if he would've though.
 


Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Special Promotions from Fishflix.com: When Calls the Heart: Season 3 Collector's Edition

 
Special Promotions from Fishflix.com:
 
 
Fishflix.com is currently running a very special promotion. For every person that preorders When Calls the Heart: Season 3 Collector's Edition before October 11, 2016 will receive When Calls the Heart: Season 1 Episodes Set free!

I bet you're wondering just what the When Calls the Heart: Season 3 Collector's Edition contains? Well, be prepared because this might just blow you away:

What is included with When Calls the Heart: Season 3 Collector's Edition:

A 10-DVD set that contains the film and tv episode versions of When Calls the Heart: Season 3, which means it can be watched with small differences as 10 episodes or 5 feature films!

3 bonus DVD disks. Disc 8 features behind-the-scenes footage, interviews, etc. Disc 9 features grassroots success that includes footage from the #Hearties gathering in Vancouver in January of 2016. Disc 10 features a When Calls the Heart Trivia game.

If you are a When Calls the Heart fan or are just starting to fall in love with the series this would be a great deal act on. Please make sure to preorder before October 11, 2016!

Please click on the following link to start to process of accepting this great offer!

https://www.fishflix.com/when-calls-the-heart-complete-season-3-dvd-box-set-christian-movies.html


 
There is also a drawing for a $100 gift card that will take place. To enter simply leave a review of When Calls the Heart Season 3 here:  https://www.fishflix.com/review/product/list/id/1836/category/153/#review . Also one must send an email to promo@fishflix.com verifying the nickname that is used on the review to enter. A winner will be drawn on September 1, 2016!
  
There is also a wide variety of other great Christian films and TV series sets available through https://www.fishflix.com/ !

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Book Review: The Light by Mike Evans


The Light is a fictionalized version of Mike Evans' life. David is the character that portrays Mike in the book. He has a Jewish mother and his father is a non-Jew. David endured a hard life having to live with abuse from his father. His father also makes it clear that he is not happy that he is Jewish. He wonders why God didn't stop the abuse as he was going through it, he was a child when it happened after all.

David is taken on a path of healing and hope as he encounters and follows the advice of what he thinks are angels that cross his path. The advice is beyond what David would have thought of on his own, although mysteries and answers are uncovered when he takes it.

I followed this book very well because I understand what it is like to crave for an end to nightmarish conditions and not receive an immediate release. David wasn't released from his conditions until he was old enough to make a decision on his own about how to find a better path and place for himself in life. It got my attention that one thing that helped David to heal years after the abuse happened was when he went back to the house that the abuse happened at. He seemed to have been released from a lot after he took that step. That might not be the answer for everyone but I was happy to see that it worked for him.

It like that this book was put into fiction format because it is hard to remember all the details of the past, especially when they involve trauma. This book showed me and I hope it will show others how important it is to find the Messiah's path of healing and hope after enduring terrible circumstances.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book on behalf of a ministry and was not required to write a review for it.

Monday, August 8, 2016

Book Review: The Cricket and the Ant: A Shabbat Story by Naomi Ben-Gur, Illustrated by Shahar Kober

*****This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.***** 



A cricket has had a busy week. The day before Shabbat (Sabbath) approaches. He is so tired that when Friday approaches he wants to sleep a little longer. He slept much longer than expected and has realized there is not much time to make a cake before Shabbat starts. He checks and he has no food, and no time to shop for groceries. He asks for help from his neighbor, who is in ant. She (the ant) runs into a dilemma herself and the cricket steps in to offer her help as well and make her Shabbat less lonely and more enjoyable.

I really liked how the ant gave some ingredients to the cricket so he could make a cake for Shabbat. I also liked how he shared part of his Shabbat experience with the ant, who was by herself as well.

I believe that this book will help educate children about the importance of making preparations the day before Shabbat so that when it comes it can be a day of refraining from working. It will also help to show them that's is good to celebrate Shabbat with others so they won't have to do celebrate it alone.

My review = 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

Book Review: Shalom Everybodeee! by Tilda Balsley, Illustrated by Tom Leigh

*****This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.***** 
Shalom Everybodeee! : Grover's Adventures in Israel is a Shalom Sesame series book. It tells a story of Grover's visit to Israel at the Western Wall, Machane Yehuda market, Yam Kinneret (the Sea of Galilee), a snake path to Masada, the Dead Sea, a desert, and the Eilat, as well as some exciting adventures he has in those places. Grover uses the format of e-mail to share some facts about the places he visits and the adventures that are experienced.

I liked that Grover visited some places in Israel besides historical travel landmarks, such as the market and a kibbutz (farm community). I also liked that he gave the Hebrew names for the places he visited, a translation in English, and facts about those places. I believe sharing through the e-mail format of communication can help children learn better about that form of communication, especially if they see their parents e-mail sometimes or a lot.

The illustrations throughout this book will bring the story more alive for children. They will notice Grover, the way some Jewish people dress in Israel, and what some people do while visiting Israel on many of the pages throughout the book!

My review- 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Author: Tilda Balsley & Ellen Fischer
Illustrator: Tom Leigh
  • Ages: 2-6
  • Grades: PreK-2
  • Full-Color Illustrations
  • Additional Facts

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Book Review: Og's Ark by Allison and Wayne Marks, Illustrated by Martina Peluso

*****This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.*****

This is a fictionalized story for children about the Biblical character Og. He was the King of Bashan. It brings in some elements of the facts presented about Og in Deuteronomy (Devarim)  3 and adds some fictionalized information about his as well. It ties his story in with the Noah's Ark story, showing him to be a friend of all kinds of animals as he helped them and allowed them to take shelter in different nooks and crannies they crawled up to on his body at night. Even though their noises kept him up sometimes he was still very loving towards them.

I think this story will be a good introduction to the Biblical character of Og to children and will open up their minds better to his role in Scripture. Adults that read this book to children might want to point out the fictionalized parts of this story so the children will be understand better what is Biblical in the story about his character and what is fiction.  I think it will show children that even big, scary looking people can often be very kind-hearted. It will also show them that humans should be kind to animals.

My review = 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

  • Ages: 3-8
  • Grades: PreK-3
  •  Full-Color Illustrations
  • Additional Facts

Monday, August 1, 2016

Book Review: On One Foot by Linda Glaser, Illustrated by Nuria Balaguer

*****This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.*****

A young man travels to the ancient city of Jerusalem in search of a great Torah teacher. He asks each teacher he comes across if they can teach him the Torah standing on one foot.  He comes across teachers that tell him why they can't do that, laugh and scowl at him, and tell him that even the great Rabbi Hillel couldn't even do that. Each time he is laughed at he stomps away mad. In his search for a great Torah teacher no one offers to help him and he feels very discouraged. Someone then encourages him to go to Rabbi Hillel himself to see if he can help. He then receives a Torah lesson that will change his life for the good.

It was interesting to me to read this story of a young boy looking for a Torah teacher, because I think a great Torah teacher that will teach truth is often hard to find, not only for children but for adults as well. This story teaches children that even if they are laughed at they should not treat others in ways that they wouldn't want to be treated themselves when they are laughed at, have nobody to help them, and/or are discouraged. I found it interesting that the boy was looking for a Torah teacher like Rabbi Hillel, and he found out that Rabbi Hillel's words would reach down to his young generation as well.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

On One Foot
Written by Linda Glaser
Illustrated by Nuria Balaguer
Ages: 5-9
Grades: K-4
Contains Full-Color Illustrations and Additional Facts