Friday, August 11, 2017

Contest Information: The Action Storybook Bible

This is meant for children's parents to read.
 

DOES YOUR CHILD LOVE COMIC BOOKS?
HOW ABOUT SUPER HEROES?

Now is your chance to have DC and Marvel illustrator Sergio Cariello make your child's dream come true!





Parents!

David C Cook is proud to introduce the newest book in the Action Bible collection: The Action Storybook Bible (coming October 2017). Pre-order The Action Storybook Bible from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or ChristianBook.com to reserve your copy today. Plus click the graphic below to enter to have a chance to win an illustration of your child as a super hero by Action Bible artist Sergio Cariello (who has also illustrated comics for DC and Marvel!).






The giveaway is open until September 11, 2017, 5:00pm MST. Your entry must be received by then to be eligible. Five winners will be chosen at random from eligible entrants.



{THE ACTION STORYBOOK BIBLE}

Families see the Bible in motion and put their faith into action!
The Action Storybook Bible invites families with young children to explore God's redemptive story together. An entry point into the world of The Action Bible, it tells of the amazing creation story, powerful kings who reigned over ancient Israel, God's miraculous gift of eternal life through Jesus, and more! God's promise for the world is displayed throughout every page. Discover your family's place in God's incredible story and together put your faith into action!
Interactive features include:


  • Fifteen key episodes from God's Word-each one loaded with several stories along with over 350 brand-new illustrations throughout.
  • Short and easy readings-for children ages eight and under with rich, colorful images.
  • Life, Faith, Action! features-conclude every episode and invite families to talk about how God moves in the stories, how to see God in life today, how to put faith into action, and how to easily talk to God with a suggested prayer.
  • Hall of Fame visual index-the place to look up favorite Bible characters by discovering their icon connections and finding them in the stories.
Learn more and purchase a copy here.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Book Review: Get Out of that Pit by Beth Moore

Get out of that Pit helps readers rely on God's help to get them out of any pits they have been thrown in or that they created themselves. Beth Moore speaks from experience of living in the pit herself in the past. Her teachings will help people to realize that living in the pit can get so comfortable that people might not want to get out or think there is anything better for them. There are prayers included for every day of the week that can be personalized. There Discovery Guide in the back of the book is for individual or group study, it will help readers go deeper into God's word to help them get out of their pits.

For me the teachings in this book went from how people can get into the pit, living in the pit, relying on God to get out of the pit, and life after the pit. I think the author did a great job of explaining what a pit is. I am glad Bible verses were supplied to show me different people in the Bible that were in pits at some time in their lives. I learned that hardships in life that we don't cause ourselves can sometimes make us go into a pit and it's up to our reliance on God to get out of those pits. I did not know we can do and say things to create pits for ourselves, and I am so grateful there is a way out of those pits too with God's help!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Book Review: Oh Susannah: It's in the Bag by Carole P. Roman, Illustrated by Mateya Arkova

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

Susannah is a third grader who has busy parents. She is afraid to tell them she didn't complete her hard homework the night before. She puts her unfinished homework in her backpack because she doesn't want her parents to see it. That is her first problem. As she encounters more problems she doesn't know how to solve, she puts them in her backpack. Some of the problems are related with school work while others deal with situations and food. The backpack becomes so heavy with problems she can't carry it anymore and the backpack with all its contents sort of explode everywhere.

I think children will be able to understand the comparison taught in this book of how the problems they (people) carry can stack up if they don't deal with them or get help solving them. If they carry too many of them they will feel overwhelmed and like they are carrying a huge bag over their shoulders that will stay full until they get the help they need or those problems will often overflow into other areas of their lives. I really like how this book teaches that it is okay to ask for help.

This book is probably mostly made for elementary school age children. It contains short chapters and is 34 pages long.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it. 

Friday, July 7, 2017

Book Review: If You Were Me And Lived In... Cuba by Carole P. Roman, Illustrated by Kelsea Wierenga

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

If You Were Me and Lived in...Cuba is another great addition to the A Child's Introduction to Culture Around the World series! It follows the format of the other books in the series. In the introduction a Cuban-looking boy and girl point to where Cuba is on the globe. It then goes on to talk about the Republic of Cuba and the capital of Cuba. Popular Cuban boys and girls names are given as well as what you would call your mom, dad, and grandmother if you lived in Cuba. It also explains popular foods, tourist attractions, a Cuban festival, sports, what money and school is called in Cuba. There is also a glossary in the back of the book defining Cuban (Spanish) words used in the story into English.

Not only will children learn a lot from the information in this book but adults can too! It was interesting to learn that Havana, the capital of Cuba was founded by Spanish explorers and what an archipelago is. I also learned that participating in sporting events in Cuba is a very important part of life there.

As with the rest of the books in this series, children should easily follow it since it follows the format of the other books. The information learned from this book can be written in a comparison chart with information from the other books in the series to compare the differences of different cultures in different countries in the world!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of reviewing it.

Monday, July 3, 2017

Speciality Bible Review: ICB Blessed Garden Bible

This review is meant for parents, teachers, and other people that work with children to read.

This is a Holy Bible that uses the ICB (International Children's Bible) Translation. It is not a Bible storybook; it contains full Bible text and includes some dictionary words in bold and teaching pages in between the Bible text that teach things like how to study the Bible, how to pray, how to forgive others, and how to know Jesus better. There are also pages that can be filled in with written information like the Bible reader's family history information, brothers and sisters birthdays, and favorite Bible verses. Bible verses are also listed for different Names of God and the Miracles of Jesus. There is a Concordance and Memory Verses for my Life section. There are also some color maps of Abraham's Journey, the Desert Wanderings, Jesus' Last Week in Jerusalem, and Palestine in Jesus' Life.

I think a lot of children will find this Bible translation easy to understand. I read the Bible books of 1 Peter, 2 Peter, and Jonah while reviewing it. I sometimes used it alongside another translation and I could tell some differences. The bolded words are a good prompt for children to look up words in the dictionary in the back to learn their meanings. I think some of the Bible text that is darkened will highlight some important information to children. Some children that read this Bible might find it interesting that there is a page near the end that lists kids in the Bible and how God used them.

I like it that it is not overflowing with information in between Scripture because it might help children to stay focused on the Scriptures better. The headings listed throughout the Bible will help children to understand what the different parts of Scripture are about.

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this Specialty Bible free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

Monday, June 26, 2017

Book Blog Tour: Israel - God's Heart by Kathleen Barrett, Aerial Photography by Ron Gafni



Israel - God's Heart will give you much visualization of the beautiful land of Israel. The aerial photographs show some of the places, animals, and nature of Israel. There are photographs of well-known places like the Western Wall and the Temple Mount, and some maybe not so well-known places like the Cattle Car Memorial and the Port of Haifa. There are also some photographs of people enjoying the land. Bible verses are displayed throughout the book to help set the mood of the photographs. There are descriptions close to the photographs that explain what the attractions are and where they are located.

I was glued to this whole book one afternoon until I finished it. The tourist attractions were very interesting for me to read about and look at the pictures of.

This book helped open up my mind to how the Romans lived in the land of Israel. It had not reached my mind from reading Bible scripture that they were there in the flesh until I saw pictures of Caesarea, the remains of a Roman Amphitheatre, and other Roman buildings.

The most interesting part of the book was seeing what the modern town of Nazareth looks like. It is much more built up than I imagined from Scripture and it made me wonder if there were anywhere close to that many buildings there during Bible times.

I liked seeing pictures of the Dead Sea, since I use skin products made with ingredients from it. I also liked seeing some the beautiful fields which contain rows and rows of colorful buttercups.

This book brought me one step closer to understanding what being in Israel is like for tourists and people studying about the land!

My review= 5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free for the purpose of writing a review.

Book Blog Tour Landing page:
 

Flipbook link:

http://online.fliphtml5.com/sbzi/lbnv/


About the author and aerial photographer:

Ron Gafni works as a professional aerial photographer after spending more than a decade in Israel's High-Tech Industry. He brings his vast experience and personal perspective through the lens of a proud Israeli citizen. His work has been featured in "National Geographic," and his company, Skypics.co.il, provides books from its "Israel From Above" collection to the Israeli government, Army and Air force, as well as to large corporations in Israel. 
Kathleen Barrett, a south Florida resident and former teacher is a student of the Word. She shares her thoughtful point of view in "Israel-God's Heart" from a personal, 40 year walk of Christian faith and study. In 2002, she authored a children's devotional. Before that and since then, she has published numerous articles from mission's outreach to local political events. Her more personal and reflective work has been featured in a number of collections.
Find out more at http://skypics.co.il.



Israel pin1




Israel pin 2


Friday, June 23, 2017

Book Review: The Book of Greens by Jenn Louis with Kathleen Squires

This book is full of recipes for healthy greens that are full of different vitamins. It shows how to take care of the greens after you buy them, how to prepare them, and how to cook them so they will maintain their appropriate taste and texture. It gives an introduction to each of the kind of greens that are used, as well as lists different varieties of the greens, what season to use them, how to choose, clean, store, and refresh them. It gives cooking methods, other food items that pair well with them, and usually a picture of each type of green, and one picture of a recipe within the group of recipes included (from what I noticed). There are a variety of recipes to use hot or cold.

This cookbook has been helpful to me because I was interested in learning about which greens have Vitamin K in them, which I try to eat a vegetable that contains Vitamin K at least once a day. I often fall short of that goal, so I just bought some Vitamin K vitamins to help make up for the days I don't get to eat them.

A lot of the recipes seem kind of complex to me, I think because I am not used to cooking with greens and usually eat them only in salads. It has helped me to understand that a lot of greens are available at Farmer's Markets. I like the recipes will challenge my cooking skills!

There was one part of the book that lists a theory from someone else that used some bad language in it that I would have rather not read. I am thinking of tearing that page out of the book so I will not come across it again because all the rest of the book seems helpful to me.

This book helped show me some more interesting ways to cook greens, especially with meats.
It is full of recipes to help make eating greens more interesting. I hope to try out some of the recipes soon!


My review= 4.5 out of 5 stars

I received this book free from Blogging for Books for the purpose of reviewing it.